Adopt Me!

Change this animal’s life today!

Status: Available for adoption
Animal Type(s): Dogs, Large Dogs (> 50 lbs / 23 kg)
Gender: Male
Approx. date of birth: 2009
Breed: Mixed
Spayed / Neutered: Yes
Energy level: Low
Good with kids: Older children only
Good with dogs: Yes
Good with cats: No

I have many years behind.  I am experienced you might say.  I have had a good home in the country all my life.  Food, vet care, shelter a safe place to live.  Recently things started to change, I still had great care, but one of my humans went away and didn’t come back.  He hadn’t been feeling well and my other human said he needed more care than he could get at home.  She was still with me so although we were sad, life was still pretty good.  Then things changed again, my other human wasn’t feeling well and  she too went  to live where others could help her.  That left me – all alone.  They didn’t forget me, not for a minute.  One of the caregivers where they live now, looked after them during the day and then everyday twice a day without fail came to check on me and feed me.  This arrangement wasn’t sustainable for the long term, so through community by-law SCARS was contacted to see if maybe they could help me out.  All you SCARS followers know the answer to that question was absolutely yes.

 

I am trying to settle into life in foster care, it is a bit of an adjustment.  I am 11 years old and a shepherd cross and a large guy at 90 pounds.  I am looking for a place to spend my remaining days.  I like the out of doors with the option to get into warm shelter – so kind of an indoor outdoor dog.  I am quite independent and like to do my own thing.  So my ideal home would likely be a fenced acreage with access to a shop or a garage or even the house.  I do not like cats, not one little bit so I am not interested in sharing my new space with a cat.  Given my age a quiet home likely without the busy activity of young children is best.  I am fully vet checked and SCARS can provide you with all the information about my health.  I am a Senior senior at 11 years old so we all know there are far fewer months ahead of me than behind me.

Interested in adopting Sandy? Click the Adopt Me Button at the top of the page.
Please note: If other cats/dogs in your home are not spayed/neutered, we may deny your application. SCARS exists due to lack of spaying/neutering and it is our goal to end this cycle. If there is a documented medical reason for your animal to not be spayed/neutered, we will work with you.